LoBiondo Applauds Winner of Annual Congressional Art Competition

May 16, 2017

MAYS LANDING, N.J. – At a public reception in Hammonton on Saturday morning for the artists and their families, U.S. Congressman Frank A. LoBiondo (NJ-02) congratulated Danielle Brown of Clearview High School for winning the 2017 Congressional Art Competition. Ms. Brown’s “Room 109” piece will be displayed in Washington, D.C. for one year in the tunnel connecting the main tour route of visitors to the U.S. Capitol.

“I congratulate Danielle for her ingenuity and creativity on display in ‘Room 109’ and I believe her piece will be outstanding addition to the U.S. Capitol,” said LoBiondo. “The annual Congressional Art Competition encourages young artists in our communities to share their talents with countless visitors to my offices and the U.S. Capitol. I applaud the enthusiastic participation from students across South Jersey. This is one of my favorite events each year and I am pleased to again have my office participate.”

The 2nd and 3rd place winners were Asia Lackland of Egg Harbor Township High School (“New York City”) and Emily He of Ocean City High School (“Through the eyes of a hungry child”), respectively. The second and third place submissions will be displayed in LoBiondo’s Washington, DC (2nd Place) and Mays Landing (3rd Place) offices. Honorable mention goes to Ava Kuehner of Ocean City High School for her piece “Lion”.

Fifty (50) students from nine (9) local high schools submitted artwork for the Congressional Arts Competition. They are as follows:

Bridgeton High School

  • Aruro R. Garcia
  • Angela Gonzalez
  • Bridgette Kingsland
  • Lisela Morales
  • Carolyn Gomez
  • Jose Luis Osorio
  • Andrea Pena
  • Deanna Penn
  • Ilenna Payamps
  • Rachel Richards


Buena Regional High School

  • Gabrielle Torres
  • Elba Lopez
  • Jadene Sharp
  • Paula Garzon
  • Angelina Romeo
  • Tyler Toffenetti
  • Brooke Cheli
  • Danyelle Satterfield
  • Chasity Brono
  • Madison Shuemate
  • Ashley Ashton
  • Savannah Giese
  • Olivia Dormenan
  • Robert Leek
  • Madison Shumate
  • Zakir Epps
  • Elba Lopez


Cedar Creek High School

  • Carina Hawryluk
  • Rebekah Betar
  • Madison Torres


Clearview High School

  • Danielle Brown


Egg Harbor Township High School

  • Asia Lackland


Mainland Regional High School

  • Michael Mucciarone


Oakcrest High School

  • Melissa Evans
  • Claire Bustos


Ocean City High School

  • Allison Novasito
  • Emma Kelly
  • Emily He
  • John Groves
  • Elizabeth Blankley
  • Allsion Sannino
  • Michael Calabro
  • Ava Kuehner


Salem High School

  • Kristay Alcazar Hernandez


Vineland High School

  • Patrick Frey
  • Syncere Gaye


Woodstown High School

  • Florinda Lucci
  • Kenneth Turner
  • Aniya Johnson
  • Ashley Adams


Judging the students’ submissions were: MaryAnn Cannon, Owner of La Bottaga of Art in Millville; Lisa Romano, Assistant Director of the Riverfront Renaissance Center for the Arts; and Marianne Lods, Director of Glasstown Arts District in Millville.

Submissions could be: paintings (oil, acrylics, watercolor etc); drawings (pastels, colored pencil, pencil, charcoal, ink, markers); collage (must be two-dimensional); prints (lithographs, silkscreen, block prints); mixed media (use of two or more mediums); computer-generated art; or, photography.